Fresh Blueberry Pie

This delicious blueberry pie was made possible by all the blueberries I picked at King’s Orchard over the weekend.

Fresh Blueberries

For the Blueberry filling:

  • 5 c. fresh blueberries
  • 1 1/2 c. granulated sugar
  • 4 tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice

Mix dry ingredients in saucepan. Add water gradually. Bring to a boil, then add blueberries. Cook until thickened, stirring constantly but carefully to prevent berries from crushing. Remove from heat, add lemon juice. *This filling can be used for pies or as a topping on cakes.

Making the pie filling

I cheated with my pie crust. I have tried a few times to make a crust from scratch and I simply don’t have a good enough recipe OR the patience so I went to the grocery store and bought a froze Pillsbury crust. No big deal, it tastes great and I didn’t have to waste my time getting frustrated at my attempt at one from scratch!

I couldn’t wait for the pie to cool off once it was done, so the filling hadn’t had time to set (as you can see, below). No matter, it tasted excellent anyway! And I have enough filling leftover to use on another yummy dessert!

Couldn’t wait! Hot pie!

