a brief word about my trip to chicago…

Chicago is amazing. I’ve loved the city for quite a while now, but I’d never actually visited until this past week. Even with all the drama and sadness that suddenly invaded my life last Friday, the time I spent in Chicago was pleasant and (for the most part) enjoyable.

I say “for the most part” because as nice as it was to be there finally, something, or someONE as the case may be, was missing. And the reason behind why that person was missing is gut-wrenching and heart-breaking. Chicago is the city where the love of my life lives, but he was not there with me due to a terrible accident while he was away visiting his family in Madrid. Being in Chicago was bittersweet….I had the opportunity to walk down roads that he’s walked down, making me feel closer to him…yet, at the same time, it gutted me not to have him by my side.

Now I am back home…relieved and sad. I want so badly for him to be ok, but that time has not come yet. I wait to hear new news, but it doesn’t come often. I know he will be ok, in time. He has a long recovery ahead. I look forward to the time when we are together finally, in Chicago.

I love him.

